Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Congratulations to our MSc in Clinical and Therapeutic Neuroscience, Class of 2021/22 for successfully completing the course.

Jonathan Cattral, Kristina Funk, Muyang Lin and Georgina Miller

The MSc in Clinical and Therapeutic Neuroscience was first launched in October 2019 and is run jointly with the Departments of Psychiatry and Nuffield Department of Clinical Neurosciences, together with essential contributions from allied departments and institutions in Oxford.

Overall, the academic standard of the cohort was extremely high, and after much deliberation, the Exam Board judged that the following candidates deserved special recognition. All prize winners have received an Amazon gift voucher. Six students from this class are staying in Oxford either to study for a DPhil, or take up a Research Assistant post. We wish the whole class the very best of luck with their future endeavours.

Jonathan Cattrall (Foundation Doctor)

  • Most Improved Student Prize, for demonstrating exceptional diligence and academic progress over the year.
  • Dissertation Prize for: 'Are clinicians qualitative Bayesian reasoners when using clinical decision support tools?'
  • Poster Prize (joint winner), for excellent performance in the poster viva voce examination where he presented: 'Investigating heart rate variability as a marker of disease severity and autonomic nervous system dysfunction in patients with tetanus'

Kristina Funk (Biomedical Scientist and Neuroscientist)

  • Poster Prize (joint winner), for excellent performance in the poster viva voce examination where she presented: 'Using deep learning to identify metabolite biomarkers of Alzheimer's disease'

Muyang Lin (Biomedical Scientist) 

  • Highest Achievement Prize for attaining the top final mark, and consistently high marks throughout the year.
  • Essay Prize for attaining a Distinction level for all four summative essays.
  • Essay Prize for: 'The potentials and challenges of using neuromelanin sensitive magnetic resonance imaging as a diagnostic and monitoring biomarker for Parkinson's Disease'

Georgina Miller (Neuroscientist)

  • Poster Prize (joint winner), for excellent performance in the poster viva voce examination where she presented: 'Induced pluripotent stem cell-derived astrocytes reflect in vivo measures of Alzheimer's disease vulnerability'

Similar stories

Jaideep Pandit honoured with RCoA Gold Medal

Congratulations are in order for Professor Jaideep Pandit, Professor of Anaesthesia and consultant anaesthetist, who has received the rarely awarded prestigious Gold Medal of the Royal College of Anaesthetists. Professor Pandit was a student and research fellow at DPAG and is now an Academic Visitor in the department; he is also a Fellow and Tutor in Medicine at St John's College.

Oxford receives £122m funding for healthcare research

Health and care research in Oxford is to receive £122 million in government funding over the next five years to improve diagnosis, treatment and care for NHS patients. Our department will play a major role.

Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellowship

Dr Rezvan Farahibozorg has received one of 17 Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellowships for 2022.

New Year's Honours for Professor Irene Tracey

Professor Irene Tracey FMedSci, MAE, Professor of Anaesthetic Neuroscience and Warden of Merton College, has been appointed CBE for services to medical research.