Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The 14th Quinquennial Myasthenia Gravis Federation of America International Conference was recently held in Miami with 450 delegates attending in person, including over 100 from industry.

Dr Michelangelo Cao and Prof Erdem Tüzün in front of a scientific poster.
Dr Michelangelo Cao and Prof Erdem Tüzün

NDCN was well represented at this meeting, with platform presentations by Emeritus Professors Angela Vincent (plenary speaker) and David Beeson, as well as Dr Yin Dong and former NDCN researcher, now consultant at Norwich Hospital, Dr Michelangelo Cao.

The infrequency of this meeting always makes it special for those who dedicate their careers to myasthenia research. The fact that so many of us were able to meet in person for the first time after the pandemic made it extra special.  - Dr Yin Dong

Drs Maria Isabel Leite, Richard Webster, Judith Cossins, Leslie Jacobson and Setareh Alabaf all presented posters, with Dr Webster and Dr Alabaf winning two of the four poster prizes available. Posters were also presented by NDCN visiting Professor Erdem Tüzün from Istanbul University and DPhil graduate, now senior physician at the Medical University of Vienna, Dr Hakan Cetin.

The strong representation from the Department shows the continued quality of research conducted here, and the impact NDCN is having globally on this debilitating condition.

Similar stories

Heidi Johansen-Berg elected a Fellow of the Royal Society

Professor Heidi Johansen-Berg, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience has been honoured by the Royal Society by being elected a Fellow for her outstanding contributions to science.