Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The department was proud to host Professor Dennis J. Selkoe from Harvard Medical School as part of our Litchfield/Thomas Willis lecture and annual postgraduates' meeting.

Professor Selkoe, the Vincent and Stella Coates Professor of Neurologic Diseases at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital, gave a lecture on 'Protein Misfolding and the Molecular Bases of Alzheimer's and Parkinson's Diseases'.

Departmental Prizes

As part of the event, we awarded the following prizes to members of our department:


YEAR 1: Kinan Muhammed, ‘Can You Invigorate Your Eye Movements?’ (Kinan Muhammed, Edwin Dalmaijer, Sanjay Manohar & Masud Husain)

YEAR 2: Sezgi Goskan, ‘Imaging Pain in the Newborn Infant Brain using fMRI’ (Sezgi Goskan, Faith Emery, Caroline Hartley, Ravi Poorun, Mark Jenkinson, Stuart Clare, Rebeccah Slater)

YEAR 3: Anjan Nibber,‘Role of antibodies directed against the AMPA and GABAB receptor in neurological diseases’ (Anjan Kaur Nibber, Philippa Pettingill, Patrick Waters, Edward Mann, Angela Vincent & Bethan Lang)

Departmental Prizes

Thomas Willis Early Career Researcher Prize

Joint Winner – Aarti Jagannath,‘The CRTC1-SIK1 pathway regulates entrainment of the circadian clock’

Joint Winner – Tamar Makin, ‘Phantom pain is associated with preserved structure and function in the former hand area’

Thomas Willis Senior Career Researcher Prize

Winner –  Gwenaëlle Douaud, ‘Preventing Alzheimer’s disease-related gray matter atrophy by B-vitamin treatment’

Runner up – Katie Warnaby, ‘Slow-wave activity saturation and thalamocortical isolation during propofol anesthesia in humans’

NDCN Departmental Prize for Excellence

Beth Lang for her work as a senior member of the Neuroimmunology Group

Similar stories

Celebrating International Women's Day

100 years since women were admitted as full members of the University of Oxford, women now hold vital posts at all levels of this institution.

Seminar Summary: Unravelling the inflammatory neuropathies

Dr Alexander Davies summarises a departmental seminar by Dr Simon Rinaldi

Wolfson Building housing stroke centre opens

Research into strokes and vascular dementia took a major step forward on Thursday 5 March with the official opening of our Wolfson Centre for the Prevention of Stroke and Dementia (CPSD) based at the new Wolfson Building.

Thomas Willis Day 2019

On 16 May we celebrated the work of our Department over the previous year, marking our successes in research, teaching and public engagement.