Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Many congratulations to the following members of our Department who have been awarded the title of Professor in the recent Recognition of Distinction round.

Esther Becker, Gabriele De Luca and Huiling Tan

Esther Becker

Esther Becker, Professor of Translational Neuroscience, is in our Division of Clinical Neurology. She runs the Cerebellar Disease Group, which aims to understand the genetic, molecular and cellular mechanisms that underlie neurodevelopmental and neurodegenerative diseases of the cerebellum with the ultimate aim of developing better treatments for these disorders.

Gabriele De Luca

Gabriele De Luca, Professor of Clinical Neurology and Experimental Neuropathology, is in our Division of Clinical Neurology. He runs the Neurodegeneration and Inflammation Research Group, which explore the neuropathology of multiple sclerosis and other inflammatory and neurodegenerative diseases using a multidisciplinary team approach to post-mortem brain and spinal cord tissue. The aim is that the understanding derived from these studies will translate into ideas for improved treatments for living patients.

Huiling Tan

Huiling Tan, Professor of Human Electrophysiology and Neuromodulation, is in our MRC Brain Network Dynamics Unit. Her group's goal is to define how activity in large populations of neurons is coordinated in healthy movement and how such coordination may go awry in diseases, translating this information in to improved treatment for Parkinson's Disease, Essential Tremor and other disorders of movement.