Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Diagram showing the hierarchical structure of the Medical Sciences Division and the departments within it

We have six divisions in the Nuffield Department of Clinical Neurosciences, some of which have a long history spanning 75 years. All have made important discoveries about how the brain works and developed treatments that directly benefit patients.

Major breakthroughs include the discovery of a type of cell in the eye which helps regulate our body clock, new techniques to image the human brain, devices to make anaesthesia safer, how to treat and prevent major stroke, novel treatments for chronic neurological conditions and eye disorders, and using our improved understanding of how people experience acute and chronic pain to identify new ways of managing it.

NDCN's six divisions and Heads

MD PhD FRCP Peter Rothwell - Founding Director of the Wolfson Centre for the Prevention of Stroke and Dementia and Action Research Professor of Neurology

Centre for the Prevention of Stroke and Dementia

Peter Rothwell

Division of Clinical Neurology

David Bennett

(Deputy Head: Michele Hu)

Peter Magill - MRC BNDU Director

MRC Brain Network Dynamics Unit

Peter Magill (Interim Director)

Nuffield Division of Anaesthetics

Andrew Farmery

Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology

Russell Foster

Wellcome Centre for Integrative Neuroimaging

Heidi Johansen-Berg